Car owners in Illinois could pay a fine between $501 and $1,000 when they drive without insurance for the first or second time, aside from having a suspended license and registration for three months.
Higher premiums also await those who repeatedly get caught driving without insurance in Illinois. Vehicle insurance in Harvey, for instance, can cost more than the state average of $1,158 per year for multiple offenses. Not only that, convicted multiple offenders will need to show an SR-22 financial responsibility certificate once every three years as proof of meeting minimum coverage requirements.
If it’s your first time getting caught, you’ll need to show up in court to plead your case. The judge can reduce your penalty by $100 if you get insured before your court appearance. Take note that a suspended vehicle registration doesn’t allow anyone to use the car for the mandated period. Some people mistakenly think that they can ask their friends or family members to drive them around while their licenses are suspended.
A personal injury lawsuit can be the worst thing that could if you drive without insurance. Insured drivers should also remember that they can be sued if their coverage isn’t enough to pay for the inflicted damages.
Understanding the Basic Policy
The state requires car insurance to cover physical injuries worth at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. It should also comprise at least $20,000 of property damages, as well as $20,000 per person and $40,000 per person for uninsured motorist bodily Injuries.
You don’t need to have coverage for collision/comprehensive deductible and uninsured motorist property damage, but it’s an excellent option to include them just in case someone vandalizes your car or when another vehicle hits yours.
How Much Do You Need to Spend on Coverage?
A study showed that a 30-year-old male driver in Chicago usually pays $1,765 per year for a basic policy. The actual price can be a lot higher if you already have a blemished driving history. The rates in Chicago are generally more expensive than anywhere else in the state, even if you have a clean record. On the other hand, some insurance companies in Dekalb offer annual premiums as low as $420.
Drivers in cities and suburbs near Chicago also spend quite the same amount of insurance based on the study’s sample, although Aurora is an exception. The average premium for drivers in the second-biggest city of Illinois costs $1,108 per year. The type of vehicle that you own also affects the actual cost. The study collected quotes for a 2011 Toyota Camry model with 12,000 driven miles on average every year.
You risk paying penalties worth up to $4,500 if you drive without insurance in Illinois, especially when you cause an accident. The state will still impose similar, if not harsher, penalties reserved for repeat offenders even if it was the first time. While the state allows you to have minimum coverage, it’s better to be insured against collision and other damages not covered by a basic policy.